ME1

Positive Personal Development

Entrepreneur Support, Entrepreneur Journey -ME1 PPD Director Journey

Leave a comment

The beginning of my journey required first of all

  • Guts
  • Open, positive mind
  • Idea: to solve a problem/support a need

Once I discovered I had all 3 of the above, I knew I could build on the rest. What I did next was decide to leave my job as a youth inclusion woman at YIT, Youth Inclusion Team, in Bolton. My main responsibility was to get training to run a business.

The actual characteristics of someone being successful in business are

  • Positive mindset
  • Flexible approach
  • Self-motivated
  • Have self-belief in abilities and ideas
  • Don’t mind working on own/ doing many roles by self until business is established
  • Disciplined
  • Good communication skills
  • Developing own material from ground up

My ideology/idea is that there is a need to increase personal development for levels individuals facing difficult lives. I can motivate and inspire individuals to reduce negative thinking and behaviours that impact their lives, also reaching their full potential. I believe as a foundation, motivation and self-empowerment are two main components if you believe in yourself – and are motivated to make a positive change, then the world is your “oyster”, as they say.

ME1 brand is bright, colourful message of personal development in a positive way. My advice for start-up businesses would be the importance of branding. Your brand and the message you send out is very key to people – e.g. McDonald’s, Nike, Lorrell we all know their company message. Choosing colours, logo and slogan to match brand. This needs careful considerations.

  • Be creative and think outside the box
  • Decide what your aim/mission is

Steps to Building business to …Where I am Now

  • Weighing up my responsibility as Young mum and managing work life and child home life
  • Deciding if business is for me!
  • What skills I have for business
  • The gaps I need to fulfil in business – specialized knowledge
  • Who are my clients
  • What is the message I want my business to have/give
  • Need to be persistent
  • Be clear, consistent, focused, learn and have a team of various skills support ( a master mentor mind team )
  • self-belief

These are some overall skills I have learned – which I have used to equip people with the correct mindset and skills to be successful in business

My entrepreneurial journey has been supporting others on their entrepreneur path through delivery of talks, presentations to students and young people aged 18+ at MMU and Salford University. Outlined below is some key areas where I delivered practice/offered support

  1. MMU: Employability Day -for the Faculty of Health, Social Care & Education event
  2. Enterprise Day (discussed my journey in business and advantages and disadvantages)
  3. Dragons Den (sit on panel and give business advice on individual ideas/product) and next steps required
  4. Employability and Career Support

Salford University: Parallel roads project support group of males on fund-raising ideas and sustainability for business in 2015

Also, ME1 sponsored the Abs Ltd, Business Consulting Company Home business workshop in 2015, for new start-ups.

Books – to empower women and have a positive mindsets “Think and Grow Rich for Women” by Sharon Letcher

Activities – Apr

  • Strategically Planning
    • Update business plan
    • Developing a presentation of ME1 PPD ltd yearly KPI’s, targets/goals
  • Radio interview at allFM (https://m.mixcloud.com/childrensfinanceexpert/allfm-the-money-show- annie-chisambo- 18-april- 2016/)
  • Conducting research – women – entrepreneurial support
  • Training workshop facilitators (to become coaching women)
  • Joint collaborative meetings with dynamic heights – BmeRT – round table group supporting provisions for ex-offenders and offenders of BME backgrounds–
  • Black women in business support group- Esu hill has established running once a month
  • ME1 engaging with 3 new clients

Support Groups and programs for People in community

  • Jenny at One Manchester The part of 12 week course social innovation
  • Dijonn Taylor – business women, entrepreneur at Savvy Guest – Delivered a Talk about her 12 years in business to young women becoming entrepreneurs – ESU Hill at the network for Black women
  • Support of government funding and support of networking, collaborations – shared knowledge skills is helpful if out to help others.

There are programs and coaching for entrepreneurs small and medium business start-ups. See website www.me1.org.uk

Leave a Reply

